Our fourth-generation, family-owned business began in 1911 as a rough lumber mill with just four employees. Today, we’ve grown to a 50-acre complex with more than 700,000 square feet of retail, office, warehouse, and millwork production space, with nearly 500 dedicated employees.
Our goal is to build relationships, provide outstanding products and services, and ensure our customers always have a great experience working with us. We aim to do this while retaining the qualities of hard work, dedication and honesty from the legacies left behind by Robbie Keim, Eric Schlabach, Eva Keim, Bill Keim, grandfather Roman Keim, and great-grandfather Mose Keim.
Community Business, a strategy and way of life
Keim began as a small sawmill called Keim Brothers, started by Mose J. Keim and his brother, John. (The original mill still sits at the bottom of the hill by State Route 557 in Charm, Ohio.)
Mose’s son Roman Keim started working with his father and uncle, and the name changed to M. J. Keim and Son.
The business expanded to include a dry kiln, hardwood flooring, plywood, an office, and a building hardware store.
Roman’s son, Bill Keim, started working with his father, and the name changed to Keim Lumber Company.
The original store moved up on the hill, occupying the space known as the Bargain Nook in the current store.
The store expanded to 30,000 square feet of showroom, with the current front building being added.
Bill’s son Robbie Keim started working with his father as the company continued to grow.
Keim Lumber expanded to the current 125,000 square foot showroom.
Bill's stepson, Eric Slabach, joined the company.
Keim Lumber celebrated 100 years in business.
New Keim President
Jim Smucker is selected as the first
non-family member to serve as
Keim Lumber rebrands as Keim, and continues to create exceptional experiences for its co-workers, customers, and community just as it has for more than 100 years.